#Dúshlán (Challenges Competition)

#Dúshlán 2022 will be happening on 1 - 3 February 2022. More information to follow.

See below for details of #Dúshlán 2021:

What is #Dúshlán?
#Dúshlán is a competition aimed at second and third level students to encourage them to engage with Irish in a fun way. It gives students the opportunity to engage with Irish outside of the classroom and naturally with their friends. There will be 30 challenges to undertake within 50 hours. Young people can participate in #Dúshlán2022 in a Covid-compliant manner, with some of the challenges being done in school and others at home. We want to encourage the language amongst our young people! 99% of participants from last year were very happy or happy with the competition.

 Challenge Terms & Conditions can be found in full HERE

How does it work?
You sign up as a team of three people. 
After registering, your team you will receive an email with your team number and more details about how to take part in the competition. There is no limit to the amount of teams any one school or college can register.
The competition will begin at 12:00 on the chosen date, when the list of challenges will be released to every team. Every challenge will allow you to collect a certain amount of points, for example:



All teams must send us evidence of every challenge they carry out with pictures, videos or recordings on WhatsApp. Each member of the team must have access to WhatsApp in order to take part in the competition. This allows us to have a record of every team's entries for when judging is taking place. Participants will need to access TikTok, Instagram and WhatsApp accounts, therefore the competition isn't suitable for those under the age of 13.

How will Dúshlán be different in 2021?                                                                                                           

This year all 30 challenges have been created in compliance with government COVID-19 social distancing and safety guidelines, in order to ensure each participant has a fun and safe experience while taking part in Dúshlán.  Some of the challenges can be completed by just one team member.  Teams can divide these individual challenges evenly among the team members. There are several challenges however that must be completed by all three members of the team. These will be clearly marked on the list of challenges. All members of the team must have access to Whatsapp in order to participate fully.



How will the winners be chosen?
The winners will be the team that carries out every challenge within the 50 hour time limit. If more than one team manages to do this, first place winners will be chosen based on how creatively they carried out the challenges. Subsequent teams will be given 2nd and 3rd place.  The decision making process will be undertaken by a group of judges. Every student who takes part in the competition will receive a certificate.
If you have any questions about the competition please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The aim of #Dúshlán is to encourage secondary school students to use their Irish in fun and different ways, that are outside of the classroom.  30 Challenges, 50 hours, with a chance to win some fantastic prizes, which have in the past included iPads, vouchers and more.



Associated Organisations of Conradh na Gaeilge