Skip to main content


Election 2020  #GaelVóta

Conradh na Gaeilge are asking the public to consider the #GaelVóta when voting on Saturday, 8th of February

General Election (South):

Saturday, 8 February 2020

Click here to see the stance of the parties for the commitments that over 70 Irish language, Gaeltacht and other groups are looking for:


Click on any of the Dáil Constituencies below to see the stance of the candidates in that constituency:
  1. Carlow–Kilkenny
  2. Cavan–Monaghan
  3. Clare
  4. Cork East
  5. Cork North-Central
  6. Cork North-West
  7. Cork South-Central
  8. Cork South-West
  9. Donegal
  10. Dublin Bay North
  11. Dublin Bay South
  12. Dublin Central
  13. Dublin Fingal
  14. Dublin Mid-West
  15. Dublin North-West
  16. Dublin Rathdown
  17. Dublin South-Central
  18. Dublin South-West
  19. Dublin West
  20. Dún Laoghaire
  21. Galway East
  22. Galway West
  23. Kerry
  24. Kildare North
  25. Kildare South
  26. Laois–Offaly
  27. Limerick City
  28. Limerick County
  29. Longford–Westmeath
  30. Louth
  31. Mayo
  32. Meath East
  33. Meath West
  34. Roscommon–Galway
  35. Sligo–Leitrim
  36. Tipperary
  37. Waterford
  38. Wexford
  39. Wicklow


What we are calling for in the 2020 General Election

1. The appointment of a senior Minister for Irish and for the Gaeltacht, who has Irish, so that there is stronger Irish language input at the Government table and in the budget

2. An additional investment of €18 million in an Irish language and Gaeltacht plan to expand the use of Irish and to create 500+ new jobs

3. That a Policy for Irish in the Education System from Pre-School to 3rd Level be developed and implemented

4. To support the strengthening of the Official Languages Bill 2019, in particular to add a target date of 2030 to the provision that 20% of candidates recruited to the public sector will be competent in the Irish language

Further information is available here.

The list of the commitments from the parties can be found at this link.

Strong support promised by parties for the Irish language and the Gaeltacht in the 2020 General Election. 

But pressure to be kept on some parties to attain certain outstanding commitments before Election day.

Conradh na Gaeilge welcomed various political parties promises on the 4 commitments, agreed by over 70 groups, to strengthen the Irish language and Gaeltacht. The organisation released an information leaflet today with the parties stances which will be distributed widely during the 2020 General Election. 

Niall Comer, President of Conradh na Gaeilge said:  “It is very important that the public are informed with regard to the stances of the various parties concerning the Irish language and the Gaeltacht. The language and Gaeltacht have not been treated fairly in recent years, especially with regards to funding, but it's good to see the vast majority of parties promising that they will rectify this situation  after the General Election. Extra investment, as promised by the parties, will be used to create employment in the Gaeltacht and to provide opportunities for people to use Irish in their communities throughout Ireland, by developing hubs for the Irish language, making scholarships available to children from disadvantaged backgrounds, employing language co-ordinators and more.”

Julian de Spáinn, General Secretary of Conradh na Gaeilge said: “Even though we are very happy that some parties are on-board with all 4 commitments for the Irish language and Gaeltacht, we still have work to do to ensure certain commitments, such as the appointment of a Senior Minister for Irish and for the Gaeltacht who speak Irish in order for there to be stronger Irish language input at the Government table and in the budget. We are asking the public, between now and voting day, to engage with the candidates on all 4 commitments. 

Conradh na Gaeilge are currently organising Fóraim Gnímh (action forums) all over the country to encourage the community to engage with the candidates on the commitments. In addition, information by constituency with regard to the stance of every party and candidate on the 4 commitments that the 70 groups are looking for will be circulated in every constituency before the General Election. 

Groups Supporting the 4 Commitments:

  • An Clár as Gaeilge Teo.
  • An Droichead Teo.
  • An Foras Pátrúnachta
  • An Gréasán
  • Aontas na Mac Léinn in Éirinn
  • Aontas na nDaltaí Iarbhunscoile in Éirinn
  • Áras na nGael
  • Cairde Teo.
  • Cairde Uí Néill
  • Coiste Cultúrtha & Teanga Tuar Mhic Éadaigh Teo.
  • Coiste Dúiche Mhaigh Eo, Conradh na Gaeilge
  • Coiste Forbartha Charn Tóchair
  • Coláiste na bhFiann
  • Coláiste na nGael
  • Comhairle Ceantair na nOileán Teo.
  • Comhaltas Uladh
  • Comhar Chaomhán Teo.
  • Comhar Dún Chaocháin Teo.
  • Comharchumann Chléire Teo.
  • Comharchumann Dhúiche Sheoigeach Teo.
  • Comharchumann Forbartha an Leith Triúigh Teo.
  • Comharchumann Forbartha Árann
  • Comharchumann Forbartha Chorca Dhuibhne Teo.
  • Comharchumann Forbartha Mhuscraí Teo.
  • Comharchumann Mhic Dara Teo
  • Comharchumann na nOileán Bheag Teo.
  • Comharchumann Oileán Árainn Mhóir
  • Comhchoiste Gaeltachta Chiarraí Theas Teo.
  • Comhlachas na gComharchumann Gaeltachta
  • Comhlacht Forbartha an Spidéal Teo.
  • Comhlacht Forbartha Oileán Acla Teo.
  • Conradh na Gaeilge
  • Conradh na Gaeilge, Boirche Íochtar
  • Conradh na Gaeilge, Craobh an Aonaigh
  • Croí Éanna
  • Cultúrlann Mac Ádaimh Ó Fiach
  • Cultúrlann Uí Chanáin
  • Cumann Cultúrtha Mhic Reachtain
  • Cumann Gaelach Leath Chathail
  • Fóram Gaeilge Chiarraí
  • Fóram na nÓg
  • Forbairt Chonamara Láir
  • Forbairt na Dromada Teo.
  • Forbairt Pobail Mhaigh Cuilinn Teo
  • Gaeil na Gaillimhe
  • Gaeilge Locha Riach
  • Gael Linn
  • Gael-Taca
  • Gaelfhorbairt na Gaillimhe
  • Gaeloideachas
  • Gaelphobal Ard Mhacha Theas
  • Glór an Ghleanna
  • Glór an Tuaiscirt
  • Glór Cheatharlach
  • Glór na Móna
  • Glór na nGael
  • Glór na Spéiríní
  • Ionad Buail Isteach na Gaeilge
  • Ionad Deirbhle
  • Ionad na Fuiseoige
  • Ionad Naomh Pádraig, Dobhar
  • Ionad Uíbh Eachach
  • Laochra Loch Lao
  • Misneach
  • Muineachán le Gaeilge
  • Muintir Chrónáin
  • Ógras
  • Oideas Gael
  • Oidhreacht Chorca Dhuibhne
  • Oireachtas na Gaeilge
  • Pobal ar an Iúl, Conradh na Gaeilge
  • Spleodar
  • Sult na Sollán
  • Tuismitheoirí na Gaeltachta

Olltoghchan 2020 Béarla


Conradh na Gaeilge

6 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2.
Phone: +353 (0) 1 475 7401, Fax: +353 (0) 1 475 7844, Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.